Kauniainen (pop. 8500) is one of the four towns in the metropolitan area. It is surrounded by its neighbouring town Espoo, 15 km west of Helsinki. The history of Kauniainen goes back to the beginning of the 20th century, when a company was founded that started to sell summer house premises for people in Helsinki. The town has retained its original characteristics and this has played an important part in its development. The majority of the houses are still small and close to nature. The Culture CentreVallmogård is a Jugend-style villa from 1907. It was built for the writer Mikael Lybeck and was owned by his family until 1948. During 1948 - 1956 it was used as a hospital for the war-disabled and later as a town office. The Railway station was completed in 1908 and has retained its original look. The Kauniala Veteran Hospital was founded in 1910 as the health spa Bad Grankulla. From 1945 onwards it has functioned as a rehabilitation hospital of the Veterans' Union. Kauniainen Church (from 1983, designed by Kristian Gullichsen) resembles the Mediterranean architectural style from the early days of Christianity.